About the Canadian Society of Medievalists

The Canadian Society of Medievalists/Société canadienne des médiévistes is a scholarly association dedicated to promoting excellence in research and teaching in all fields of medieval studies. The Society holds an annual conference during the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences and publishes the peer-reviewed scholarly journal Florilegium, which is available via the University of Toronto Press and via Project MUSE.  Florilegium is included in the membership, as is Scrinium, the Society’s biannual newsletter. While CSM/SCM is based in Canada, its membership is international.

Officers of the CSM

President (2020)

Kathy Cawsey (Dalhousie University,  kathy.cawsey@dal.ca)

Vice-President (2020)

Marc Cels (Athabasca University, marcc@athabascau.ca)

Past President  (2020)

Dominic Marner (University of Guelph, dmarner@uoguelph.ca)

Secretary-Treasurer (2019)

Meredith Bacola (University of Manitoba, Meredith.Bacola@umanitoba.ca )

Florilegium Editor (2019)

Christa Canitz (University of New Brunswick, Florilegium@unb.ca)

Florilegium Co-editor, French (2019)

Sébastien Rossignol (Memorial University of Newfoundland, srossignol@mun.ca)

CSM Webmaster (2019)

Andrew Klein (St. Thomas University, canmedwebmaster@gmail.com)

Public Relations Officers (2019)

Kristin Bourassa (Centre for Medieval Literature, Syddansk Universitet, canmedievalistsPR@gmail.com)

Brandon Alakas (University of Alberta, Augustana Campus, canmedievalistsPR@gmail.com)

Stephanie Lahey (University of Victoria,
canmedievalistsPR@gmail.com)

French Translator (2019)

Lucie Laumonier (University of Calgary,
lucie.laumonier@ucalgary.ca)

Margaret Wade Labarge Prize Chair (2019)

Michael Kightley (University of Louisiana at Lafayette, michael.kightley@louisiana.edu)

Leonard Boyle Prize Chair (2019) 

Michael Teschow (University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus, Michael.Treschow@ubc.ca)

Representative to the CFHSS (2020)

Dominic Marner (University of Guelph, dmarner@uoguelph.ca)

Advisory Board


Brandon Alakas (2019, University of Alberta)

Michael Treschow (2019, UBC - Okanagan)

Jessica Legacy (2019, University of Edinburgh)

Michael Kightley (2019, Universty of Lousiana at Lafayette)

Jacqueline Murray (2020, University of Guelph,)

Allison Fizzard (2020, Campion College, University of Regina)

Alison More, St Michael's College (2020, University of Toronto, Alison.More@utoronto.ca)

Christine Eckholst (2020, Uppsala University, christine.eckholst@hist.uu.se)


Past Presidents

    
     David Watt

     John Osborne

     Elizabeth Edwards

     Anna Smol

     James Weldon

     Carol Harvey

     Andrew Taylor

     Jacqueline Murray

     Paul Dutton

     Joanne Norman

     Hans Runte

     Margaret Wade Labarge 

Past Editors of Florilegium

     James Weldon

     Carol J. Harvey

     M. Jane Toswell

     Douglas Wurtele

     Roger C. Blockley and Douglas Wurtele


© 2017-18 The Society of Canadian Medievalists. Designed and Developed by Andrew Klein and Serina Patterson. All rights reserved.  Powered by Wild Apricot.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software